Book Review – REGGIE (By Reggie Dabbs with John Driver)

Posted: May 20, 2011 in book review

“I don’t have to know your name to know your pain…

I have my own.

I don’t have to see your home to know your shame…

I have my own.

But someone loved me just the way I am,

and someone loves you just the way you are.”

This poem, written by Reggie Dabbs (as a last minute homework assignment) becomes the anthem for countless people longing to experience love, acceptance, forgiveness, and a Father.

Reggie Dabbs is a very well known and popular speaker, and while I have never personally heard him speak, I was very interested to read his autobiography to learn more about him.

To put it simply: His story is incredible.

Born because of a horrifying decision made by his biological mother in a desperate situation, Reggie was no doubt destined for failure. After all, if the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree, then Reggie had no reason to believe his life would have any meaning, purpose, joy, or peace.

But as the subtitle to the book tells you: “You can’t change your past, but you can change your future.”

Reggie came to experience God as his true Father, and now travels around the world telling people of all ages that they are loved and have a Father who not only created them, but cares for them as well.

I wholeheartedly recommend this book to anyone, especially youth and young adults wrestling with their meaning and purpose. As well as anyone who is interested in the issues of fatherhood/God as Father.

The stories that Reggie shares are both funny and thought-provoking, both personal and practical, and you will be challenged as you read his story and apply it to your own story. At the end of each chapter there are also questions for either personal reflection, or else to use as part of a small group discussion.

I’ll end with this quote from the final chapter:

“Most of the world knows God as a biological father but not as a daddy… Thus, a world resents the standards and morals it inherited from creation’s Father, mostly because they have no idea that God is more than a father; he’s a daddy… That’s how it is with God. He is both Father and Daddy, both powerful Creator and gentle Caretaker.”

Until I personally grow closer to the Father who created me, and the Daddy who loves me,
Pastor Matt

———-

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Comments
  1. nene says:

    Mr Reggie Dabbs visited my school lat year Milnerton High School in Cape Town.. I must say that day was the day i learned to appreciate all i have because others wish to have the life some of us live.. We would all like Mr Dabbs to carry on with his work cause its inspiring many people out there… We would like you to visit our school again

Leave a Reply

